

MEDIA RELEASE

Inductees Immortalised into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame

The racing industry came together in Adelaide on Friday, 14 May 2021 to witness the induction of some of the great names in racing into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame.

The evening commenced with the inductions of John Messara AM and Robert Lindsay "Bob" Charley AO into the Associates category. It was plain for all to see the passion and devotion these two esteemed gentlemen have given throughout their lives to thoroughbred racing, breeding and administration and continue to do so.

Champion racehorses Tie The Knot, Beau Vite, Red Anchor and Sailor's Guide followed with induction into the Horses category. Their feats in years gone by are not forgotten and each deserved the accolades they received.

As the evening progressed Richard Laurence "Darby" McCarthy OAM and William Henry "Midget" McLachlan were inducted into the Jockeys category followed by Les Bridge and Guy Walter into the Trainers category.

Darby McCarthy and William McLachlan achieved much success in their remarkable lifetimes, both in Australia and overseas, and their families in attendance were both proud and honoured to receive the awards on their behalf.

Les Bridge and Guy Walter hold legendary status in racing's training ranks with Les rating Classique Legend the best racehorse he has ever trained and Guy Walter remembered for his success with the likes of Tie The Knot and Streama.

To top off the night the newly introduced Spirit of Racing Award was bestowed upon Graham Salisbury and Subzero for their services to the racing industry. With not a dry eye in the room Graham and Subbie were farewelled in a moving tribute to their lives highlighting the joy they brought to others.

The next Australian Racing Hall of Fame ceremony will be hosted by Racing & Wagering Western Australia in Perth in 2023.

18 May 2021

For further information: Myles Foreman, Chief Executive Officer, Racing Australia (02) 8072 1900