

Racing Australia Announces Australian Racehorse of the Year Awards on 10 October 2024 at Morphetville Racecourse, SA

The prestigious 2023/24 Australian Racehorse of the Year awards will be celebrated this year on Thursday, 10 October at the new \$20 million state of the art Wolf Blass 'The Man' Event Centre at Morphettville Racecourse, South Australia.

The awards are set to be a stellar evening showcasing the outstanding seasons from Imperatriz, Pride of Jenni, Without a Fight, Mr Brightside and Fangirl. The awards will feature seven categories as well as the highly anticipated top gong, the Australian Racehorse of the Year.

Chief Executive Officer of Racing South Australia, Mr Vaughn Lynch commented; "Racing South Australia is delighted to be hosting the Australian Racehorse of the Year ceremony where the industry has the opportunity to celebrate the wonderful performances of the stars of the sport from the 2023/24 racing season".

In addition to our equine stars, Chris Waller has clinched yet again for the 12th consecutive year the title of Champion Group 1 Trainer for the season with a phenomenal 12 Group 1 wins. Zougotcha, Riff Rocket, Via Sistena, Fangirl and Atishu have all featured in the highlight reel for Waller Racing, with the master trainer also securing a further 13 Group 2, and 7 Group 3 victories.

Champion hoop James McDonald dominated the 23/24 racing season amassing 14 Group 1's for the season taking out the title of Champion Group 1 Jockey for the fourth straight year. It was on board Riff Rocket that James McDonald won three majors and secured 2 group 1's apiece on Fangirl, Zougotcha and Broadsiding.

It comes as no surprise that Yarraman Park's I am Invincible has already secured his fourth consecutive title for Champion Sire setting a new Australian prizemoney record with his progeny claiming a staggering \$31.3m already, with more to come until the season officially ends on 31 July. Such phenomenal success is attributable to the super mare Imperatriz, along with Tiz Invincible, I am Me, Kings Gambit and Bodyguard who have all had stellar victories over the season.

Racing Australia's Chief Executive Mr Paul Eriksson added; "On behalf of Racing Australia we are thrilled that Racing South Australia is hosting the awards ceremony showcasing thoroughbred racing excellence over the 2023/24 season".

Nationwide voting will commence shortly after the official end to the season and ticketing information for the awards will be available on the Racing South Australia website in the lead up to event.

For more information: Katie Cohen Racing Australia 0407 477 949

Nicki Barnet Racing SA 0419 803 047