

MEDIA RELEASE

Friday 30 August 2024

FINALISTS UNVEILED FOR AUSTRALIAN RACEHORSE OF THE YEAR 2023/2024

The nominees for the prestigious 2023/2024 Australian Racehorse of the Year awards have been announced today by Racing SA in association with Racing Australia.

The spectacular line up of finalists to take out the top gong "Australian Racehorse of the Year" and not surprisingly, extends to our equine greats: Without a Fight, Pride of Jenni, Imperatriz, Riff Rocket and Mr Brightside.

This year's awards will be held at the \$20m Wolf Blass Event Centre at Morphettville Racecourse, in what will be a spectacular evening acknowledging performances on Australian racecourses, as well as international performances by Australian-trained horses for the period from 1 August 2023 to 31 July 2024.

Racing SA's CEO, Vaughn Lynch added "Racing SA is delighted to be hosting the 2024 Horse of the Year awards ceremony in Adelaide. The quality of the nominations across all categories highlights the fantastic performances that were achieved during the 2023/24 season".

The nominees in each category have obtained the most votes from more than 70 of the nation's most respected racing media, handicappers and form analysts.

Each nominee will be eligible to be crowned Australian Racehorse of the Year on the evening, joining previous winners including champions such as Winx, Black Caviar, Anamoe, Nature Strip, Verry Elleegant, Sunline, and Makybe Diva.

Contenders for the Champion Two-Year-Old category include the Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott Golden Slipper winner Lady of Camelot, with J.J Atkins and Champagne Stakes winner Broadsiding also a standout in the juveniles. Storm Boy and Manaal have also confirmed their place among the finalists, and who could forget the brilliance of Hayasugi in the Blue Diamond.

Some outstanding three-year-olds will be vying for 3YO Champion Colt or Gelding, including the phenomenal dual ATC and Victoria Derby winner Riff Rocket, Randwick Guineas and Doncaster Handicap winner Celestial Legend, Queensland Derby winner Warmonger, and rounding out a magnificent season is Veight, winner of the George Ryder.

For the Three-Year-Old Filly category, the contenders really came down to the wire with the exciting line up of Tropical Squall, winner of both the Surround and Flight Stakes, Stefi Magnetica's magnificent triumph in the Stradbroke Handicap, Autumn Angel's ATC Oaks, and Orchestral and Zardozi taking out the Vinery and the VRC Oaks respectively.

The Champion Sprinter finalists feature a star-studded line up: Everest winner Think About It, Asfoora with her magnificent win in the King Charles at Royal Ascot, wonder mare Imperatriz taking out the Moir Stakes, The Manikato and back-to-back William Reid's to name but a few, the mighty Bella Nipotina who showed her brilliance in the Doomben 10,000 and the Tatt's Tiara, and I Wish I Win, victorious in the Group 1 Kingsford Smith.

In what will be a hotly contested category, Champion Middle Distance, finalists include Cox Plate winner Romantic Warrior, Pride of Jenni, winner of multiple Group 1's including her stunning victory in the Queen Elizabeth, the ever-popular Mr Brightside with wins in the Group1 Futurity and CF Orr stakes and crowd favourite Fangirl, winner of the Group 1 King Charles III Stakes, a most deserving finalist in this category.

Fighting it out for the Champion Stayer will be dual Caulfield and Melbourne Cup dynamo Without A Fight, Dual ATC and VIC Derby winner Riff Rocket, Circle of Fire who was also very popular with the judges, Fawkner Park and The Map.

The competition is also fierce for the Champion Jumper Award. Can the Ciaron Maher trained Stern Idol go back-to-back this year? Hot on his heels is Bell Ex One, with Count Zero, Wil John and Port Guillaume also deserving of their place in the list of Jumps finalists.

In addition to our equine stars, Chris Waller has clinched, yet again for the 12th consecutive year, the title of Champion Group 1 Trainer for the season with a phenomenal 12 Group 1 wins.

Champion hoop James McDonald dominated the 2023 / 2024 racing season amassing 14 Group 1's for the season taking out the title of Champion Group 1 Jockey for the fourth straight year.

It comes as no surprise that Yarraman Park's I am Invincible has already secured his fourth consecutive title for Champion Sire setting a new Australian prizemoney record with his progeny claiming just over \$31m.

(Table of Finalists see over)

CHAMPION 2YO	CHAMPION 3YO FILLY
Broadsiding	Autumn Angel
Hayasugi	Stefi Magnetica
Lady Of Camelot	Tropical Squall
Manaal	Orchestral
Storm Boy	Zardozi
CHAMPION 3YO COLT/GELDING	CHAMPION SPRINTER
Celestial Legend	Asfoora
Cylinder	Bella Nipotina
Riff Rocket	Imperatriz
Veight	I Wish I Win
Warmonger	Think About It
CHAMPION MIDDLE DISTANCE	CHAMPION STAYER
Alligator Blood	Circle Of Fire
Fangirl	Fawkner Park
Mr Brightside	Riff Rocket
Pride Of Jenni	The Map
Romantic Warrior	Without A Fight
CHAMPION JUMPER Bell Ex One Count Zero Port Guillaume Stern Idol	BART CUMMINGS AWARD – GROUP 1 TRAINER OF THE YEAR Chris Waller
Wil John	GROUP 1 JOCKEY OF THE YEAR AWARD James McDonald
	CHAMPION SIRE OF THE YEAR AWARD I Am Invincible

30 August 2024

Media Contact:

Katie Cohen Racing Australia Ph: 0407 477 949 Nicki Barnet Racing SA Ph: 0419 803 047