

New Date Announced – Tuesday 8 October 2024 for Australian Racehorse of the Year Awards at Morphettville Racecourse, SA

The prestigious 2023/2024 Australian Racehorse of the Year awards will now be celebrated on Tuesday, 8 October two days earlier than originally planned.

Chief Executive Officer of Racing South Australia Mr Vaughn Lynch said, "Racing SA is committed to ensuring the Australian Racehorse of the Year Awards are a fantastic night for the industry. Following the announcement that the Socceroos, Australia v China World Cup Qualifying match would be held on the same night, we were concerned that accommodation and flight availability would be impacted. We felt for the benefit of our guests that rescheduling to Tuesday 8 October would assist them in finding the best accommodation and flight offers available".

The awards are set to be a stellar evening in the new \$20M state of the art Wolf Blass Event Centre at Morphettville Racecourse, hosted by Channel Seven Racing's Jason Richardson. We will see the likes of Imperatriz, Without a Fight, Pride of Jenni, Mr Brightside and Fangirl to name but a few, showcase their dominant seasons. The awards will feature seven categories as well as the highly anticipated top gong, the Australian Racehorse of the Year.

Mr Lynch added "Racing South Australia is delighted to be hosting the Australian Racehorse of the Year ceremony where the industry has the opportunity to celebrate the wonderful performances of the stars of the sport from the 2023/24 racing season".

In addition to our equine stars, Chris Waller has clinched yet again for the 12th consecutive year the title of Champion Group 1 Trainer for the season with a phenomenal 12 Group 1 wins. Zougotcha, Riff Rocket, Via Sistena, Fangirl and Atishu have all featured in the highlight reel for Waller Racing, with the master trainer also securing a further 13 Group 2, and 7 Group 3 victories.

Champion hoop James McDonald dominated the 23/24 racing season amassing 14 Group 1's for the season taking out the title of Champion Group 1 Jockey for the fourth straight year. It was on board Riff Rocket that James McDonald won three majors and secured two group 1's apiece on Fangirl, Zougotcha and Broadsiding.

It comes as no surprise that Yarraman Park's I am Invincible has already secured his fourth consecutive title for Champion Sire setting a new Australian prizemoney record with his progeny claiming a staggering \$31.3m already, with more to come until the season officially ends on 31 July. Such phenomenal success is attributable to the super mare Imperatriz, along with Tiz Invincible, I am Me, Kings Gambit and Bodyguard who have all had stellar victories over the season.

Racing Australia's Chief Executive Mr Paul Eriksson added; "On behalf of Racing Australia we are thrilled that Racing South Australia is hosting the awards ceremony showcasing thoroughbred racing excellence over the 2023/24 season".

Nationwide voting will commence shortly after the official Racing Season ends on 31 July 2024. Ticketing information for the awards will be available on the Racing South Australia website in the lead up to event.

For more information: Katie Cohen Racing Australia

0407 477 949

Nicki Barnet Racing South Australia 0419 803 047