

# 2025 Stud And Stable Staff Awards Shortlist Announced

The Stud And Stable Staff Awards are excited to announce the shortlist of nominees for the 2025 edition. These individuals have been carefully selected by the shortlisting committee led by Mary Capuano for their outstanding contributions and commitment to excellence within the thoroughbred industry.

In certain categories, the quality of nominations was so high that the Shortlisting Committee decided to include additional nominees: six in Admin & Ancillary, six in Horsemanship and seven in the highly competitive Newcomer category.

On behalf of Racing Australia, Thoroughbred Breeders and Godolphin, we extend our congratulations to the following nominees for each category:

## Leadership Award (Stud or Stable)

- Ashish Kumar Bjorn Baker Racing, NSW
- Ben Gunn Yulong Investments, VIC
- Chris Lambert Darling View Thoroughbreds, WA
- James Manning Godolphin Northwood Park, VIC
- Paul Reid Godolphin Osborne Park, NSW

## Horsemanship Award (Stud or Stable)

- Corey McConnell Freelance/Peak Pulse Therapy, QLD
- Shaun McMillan Leneva Park, VIC
- Arda Tascioglu Freelancer, NSW
- Denis Gilmanov Segenhoe Stud, NSW
- Simon Palmer Vinery Stud, NSW
- Nathan Tickle Wild Oaks, NSW

## **Dedication to Breeding Award**

- Diane Colebrook Armidale Stud, TAS
- Deirdre Foster Rheinwood Pastoral Co, NSW
- Matt Comerford Widden, NSW
- Verna Metcalfe Alma Vale, NSW
- Sorcha Sweeny Yulong Investments, VIC

## **Dedication to Racing Award**

- Darren Gough Lindsay Gough Racing, QLD
- Ian Smith Freelance, NSW

- Jack O'Neil Thoroughbred Racing, NT
- Timothy Hanley McEvoy Mitchell Racing, VIC
- Tracy O'Hara Thoroughbred Industry Careers, NSW

## Administration and Ancillary Award (Stud or Stable)

- Anna Ryan James Harron Bloodstock, NSW
- Ellen Hodge McEvoy Mitchell Racing, VIC
- Kathie Bakker Yulong Investments, VIC
- Mary Bowd Godolphin Woodlands, NSW
- Sophie Swain Racing Queensland, QLD
- Wayne Massingham Inglis, NSW

## Thoroughbred Care and Welfare Award

- Alex Kelly Alex Kelly Horsemanship, QLD
- Julie Bramucci Rafiki Equestrian, VIC
- Lauren Abbott LA Racing, QLD
- Lisa Coffey Racing Hearst, QLD
- Tamara Janus TJ Equine, QLD

### Newcomer Award (Stud or Stable)

- Brooke Huppatz Chris Pollard Stables/Freelance, NT
- Heavenly Balzen Godolphin Osborne Park, NSW
- Jack Hogan Clayton Douglas Racing, VIC
- Maddison Edward Cressfield Stud, NSW
- Mia Helm Arrowfield Stud, NSW
- Nushish Mungur Malua Racing, VIC
- Olivia Klug Michael Kent Racing, VIC

"Once again, the quality of nominations for the Awards has been exceptional, with a particularly high standard across all categories. Notably, the Newcomer category stood out, as many of the nominees were of school age." remarked Mary Capuano, Chair of the Stud And Stable Staff Awards shortlisting committee.

"Now, the judging panel is diving into the tough job of going through the shortlisted nominees to pick out the two finalists. It's a thorough process because all the nominees are so impressive."

With the recent passing of Peter Heagney – an avid advocate and judge of the Awards since its inception the Steering Committee welcomes Mr Trevor Lobb to the judging panel.

The two finalists for each category for the 2025 Stud And Stable Staff Awards will be announced early April and the ceremony to celebrate these finalists will be on Monday 26 May 2025 at QT Hotel Surfers Paradise.

These Awards are proudly sponsored by Victoria Racing Club, Australian Turf Club, Queensland Off-The-Track (QOTT Program), Inglis, Magic Millions, Yulong, Hunter Thoroughbred Breeders and Thouroughbred Breeders NSW.