

Excellence shines at the 2025 Stud and Stable Staff Awards

Celebrating its 11th anniversary, the Stud and Stable Staff Awards recognised the winners of seven categories at The QT Hotel on the Gold Coast on Monday, 26 May. The ceremony hosted by Ally Mosley and James Tzaferis honoured the exceptional contributions of staff across the Australian thoroughbred industry with winners representing five different states, highlighting the national breadth of talent within the industry.

The highlight of the evening was Paul Reid from Godolphin, who received the Leadership Award and subsequently the coveted Thoroughbred Excellence Award. Described as the backbone of Osborne Park as the Assistant Trainer since 2012.

Tracy O'Hara was awarded the Dedication to Racing Award with over 25 years as a track rider, jockey and now mentor to the children of Thoroughbred Industry Careers National Pony Racing Series. Julie Bramucci was honoured for her work with Off the Track (OTT) thoroughbreds – this being her third year as a finalist earning her the Thoroughbred Care and Welfare Award.

With three Awards remaining, Ellen Hodge from McEvoy Mitchell Racing won the Administration and Ancillary Services Award, described by Tony McEvoy as a fundamental part of their operation. From Widden stud in NSW, Matt Comerford took home the Dedication to Breeding Award and Denis Gilmanov of Segenhoe Stud NSW won the Horsemanship Award.

The Newcomer Award category was particularly exciting with all seven shortlisted finalists receiving recognition for their contributions to the thoroughbred industry. Olivia Klug Michael Kent Racing emerged as the overall winner in this highly competitive category.

Applauding all winners at the Awards ceremony was Senator The Honourable Anthony Chisolm and special guests Julia Battams and Kate Nipperess from Equine Pathways Australia.

Marking a eleven years of these Awards, we extend our thanks to the Judging Panel for their invaluable and voluntary services: Johan Petzer, Melissa Weatherley, Basil Nolan, Jenny Watson, Mary Capuano, James Tzaferis, Troy Corstens, Trevor Lobb and Hazel Fertier.

We also wish to extend our sincere thanks to all our sponsors and media partners for their ongoing support and commitment. Without the backing of these key industry participants, an event of this magnitude would not be possible.