

MEDIA ALERT 20 June 2025

2025 AUSTRALIAN RACING HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES ANNOUNCED

The Sunshine State will play host to the star-studded dual event which is the 2025 Australian Racing Hall of Fame and the Australian Racehorse of the Year.

The double header promises to be a ceremony etched in history as a stellar line-up of inductees will be honoured, and the Champion Racehorse of the Year will be announced on Sunday, 31 August at "The Star" in Brisbane.

In an illustrious career spanning over six decades in Australian racing, the iconic and much loved 'voice of racing' **John Tapp** OAM will be inducted as one of the greats of the racing industry in the Associate category.

John Tapp's 33 years at the microphone and his rich contribution beyond race calling in his three decades-long media career has made him one of the greatest story tellers and historians of our generation. "**Tappy**" will be honoured for his enduring excellence, utmost dedication to his craft and his ability to bring the magic of racing into our homes.

Queensland's own **Peter Moody**, the mastermind trainer behind Black Caviar and many other equine greats will be celebrated for a career built on resilience and brilliance, carving a legacy as one of Australia's greatest modern-day racing minds. Growing up in the bush and working his way through the ranks to reach International stardom with Black Caviar, **Peter Moody** has also guided many champions to greatness including his multiple group 1 winner Typhoon Tracy, Dissident and most recently, superstar stayer, Incentivise.

The brilliant master tactician, jockey **Zac Purton** earns a most deserving place in the Australian Racing Hall of Fame. Purton's outstanding riding career has been nothing short of extraordinary. From the early days of his apprenticeship in Coffs Harbour, to then go on and win the Brisbane Jockeys' Premiership in 2002/03, to now - where he has reached the pinnacle of Hong Kong racing, amassing seven Hong Kong Jockeys' Premierships riding some of the world's highest ranked thoroughbreds.

Zac Purton also holds the record for the most number of wins in the history of Hong Kong racing at 1,836.

In the Thoroughbred category, champions **Mahogany** and **Hydrogen** will take their place in the Australian Racing Hall of Fame.

Mahogany, trained by the legendary Lee Freedman was undoubtedly one of the most gifted and versatile thoroughbreds to grace the Australian turf in the 1990's. Capturing the Victoria Derby, the AJC Australian Derby and also the Australian and Caulfield Guineas as a 3-Year-Old, **Mahogany** stamped himself as a classic star. The Champion then went on to reinvent himself later in his career as an outstanding sprinter, claiming victories in two Lightning Stakes over 1000m at Flemington.

1952 and 1953 Cox Plate winner, **Hydrogen** was a towering presence whose name became synonymous with toughness, class and true staying power. **Hydrogen**, a crowd favourite in the 1950's competed fiercely against the likes of Rising Fast, Delta and Dalray and truly cemented his name among the greats. Etching his name in history, **Hydrogen**'s legacy burns brightly more than half a century on.

Australian Racing Hall of Fame Committee Chair, Mr Jason Scott summed up the sentiments of the judging panel perfectly on what will be a very special ceremony:

"The Australian Racing Hall of Fame is a testament to those who achieved the pinnacle in the sport, and the calibre of this year's inductees is nothing short of remarkable."

"Mahogany as an eight-time Group 1 winner sits in the top echelon of Australia's modernday greats, and dual Cox Plate champion Hydrogen is recognised as one of our most versatile thoroughbreds, winning anywhere from six furlongs to two miles."

"Zac Purton is still to this day breaking records both at home and abroad in Hong Kong where he now reigns supreme as the jurisdiction's most successful hoop in terms of outright wins claiming a total of seven jockey premierships"

"It's fitting that in a year where the Sunshine State will host the evening, we induct one of Queensland's finest in Peter Moody, alongside one of the sport's most iconic broadcasters and recognisable voices in John Tapp"

"On behalf of the Hall of Fame Committee, I look forward to celebrating the outstanding careers of our esteemed inductees at the Australian Racehorse of the Year gala luncheon at the Star Brisbane on 31 August."

Racing Australia's CEO Mr Paul Eriksson:

"Induction into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame acknowledges equine and human heroes of the turf who have achieved greatness throughout their careers. We are thrilled to honour the greats both past and present on what will be a very momentous occasion and look forward to seeing you in Brisbane."

The list of 2025 Inductees:

Name	Category
HYDROGEN	Horse
MAHOGANY	Horse
PETER MOODY	Trainer
ZAC PURTON	Jockey
JOHN TAPP OAM	Associate

The announcement of who will be elevated to "Legend" status will be provided in a separate media release early next week.

For further information: Katie Cohen Racing Australia 0407 477 949

End.